Franz Waxman

Franz Waxman in Los Angeles
Photo courtesy of John Waxman

was born in Königshütte, Upper Silesia (now Chorzow, in Poland).  He studied at the Dresden Conservatory (now the University of Music Carl Maria von Weber) in 1926, and continued his studies in Berlin.  There he was hired by Erich Pommer to work for UFA, the Berlin film studios, where his first job was orchestrating Frederick Hollander's score and songs for the Marlene Dietrich film The Blue Angel.

When the Nazis took over, work became impossible.  Beaten up on the street by Nazi thugs, he fled  -  via Paris  -  to the United States in 1934.  Los Angeles was at that time the international center of new musical thought, the city that had attracted Stravinsky and Schoenberg to itself.

Over the next 32 years Waxman composed 144 film scores, was nominated for the Oscar 10 times and was the first composer ever to win the Academy Award two years in a row: 1950 for Sunset Blvd. and 1951 for A Place in the Sun.  His Hitchcock scores, including Rebecca (1940) and Rear Window (1954) made him known throughout the world.

Meanwhile Waxman never ceased composing for the concert stage.  Among the most important works in this „other“ genre are his oratorio Joshua, the dramatic song cycle The Song of Terezin, the Overture for Trumpet and Orchestra and the legendary Carmen Fantasie.  The latter work was written as part of the score for Humoresque in 1946.  Virtuoso Jascha Heifetz was so enthusiastic that he immediately took the Fantasie into his repertoire, and made a recording of it for RCA.  Since then it has entered the standard repertory of the world’s virtuosi.

The Sinfonietta for String Orchestra and Timpani was commissioned by the Zurich Radio in 1955.  Waxman’s score was written on the high seas, during the crossing from New York to Naples on the Christoforo Columbo.  The composer noted that upon his arrival in Zurich, the orchestral parts had to be copied within 24 hours, when rehearsals began.  The work obtained an international success.  It caused a furor in Moscow in March 1962, when the orchestra played the work under the baton of its composer and the cheering audience demanded that the whole work be encored.

Waxman died in Los Angeles in 1967.

Franz Waxman

Franz Waxman in Los Angeles
Foto mit freundlicher Genehmigung von John Waxman

wurde in Königshütte, Oberschlesien (heute Chorzow, Polen) geboren. Ab 1926 studierte er am Dresdner Konservatorium (heute Hochschule für Musik Carl Maria von Weber), später in Berlin. Dort wurde er von Erich Pommer zur UFA geholt, wo seine erste Aufgabe die Orchestrierung von Friedrich Holländers Filmmusik zum Marlene Dietrich Film Der Blaue Engel war.

Mit der Machtübernahme der Nazis war Arbeit unmöglich. Auf offener Straße von SA-Männern verprügelt, floh er - mit Zwischenaufenthalt in Paris - 1934 in die USA. Los Angeles war damals das internationale Zentrum der musikalischen Moderne - die Stadt, die sowohl Strawinski als auch Schönberg anzog.

In den folgenden 32 Jahren schrieb Waxman 144 Filmmusiken, wurde zehn mal für den Oscar nominiert und war der erste Komponist der zwei Jahre hintereinander den Oscar gewann: 1950 für Sunset Boulevard („Boulevard der Dämmerung“) sowie 1951 für A Place in the Sun („Ein Platz an der Sonne“). Weltberühmt wurden auch seine Hitchcock Partituren, u.a. Rebecca (1940) und Rear Window („Das Fenster zum Hof“, 1954).

Indess hörte Waxman nie auf, für den Konzertsaal zu schreiben. Zu den wichtigsten Werken dieses „anderen“ Genres gehören sein Oratorium Joshua, der dramatische Liederzyklus The Song of Terezin („Das Lied von Theresienstadt“), die Overtüre für Trompete und Orchester, und die legendäre Carmen Fantasie. Letztere entstand als Teil seiner Filmmusik für Humoresque, 1946. Der Geiger Jascha Heifetz war so begeistert, dass er die Fantasie sofort in sein Repertoire aufnahm, und auch gleich für RCA einspielte. Seither gehört sie zu den Standardwerken der Virtuosen.

Die Sinfonietta für Streichorchester und Pauken entstand als Auftragswerk des Zürcher Rundfunks 1955. Waxmans Partitur wurde auf hoher See, bei der Überfahrt der Christoforo Colombo von New York nach Neapel, niedergeschrieben. Der Komponist vermerkte, dass nach seiner Ankunft in Zürich die Orchesterstimmen innerhalb von 24 Stunden kopiert werden mussten, um rechtzeitig zu den Proben fertig zu sein. Das Werk wurde zum internationalen Erfolg. Besonders Aufsehen erregte eine Aufführung in Moskau im März 1962, als das Orchester unter Leitung des Komponisten das Werk auf Verlangen des jubelnden Publikums zur Gänze wiederholen musste.

Waxman starb 1967 in Los Angeles.