Erich Zeisl

was born in 1905 in Vienna.  Against his parents’ wish he began studying music at the Academy when he was 14; only two years later, his first songs were published.  During the Twenties he produced works in widely varying genres; his opera Leonce und Lena (based on Büchner’s play) had already been accepted for performance by theaters in Vienna and Prague, when he, like so many Jewish colleagues, was confronted with the Anschluss, which destroyed his professional life and threatened death.  In November 1938 he and his wife fled to Paris, where Darius Milhaud had obtained a visa which allowed them to remain there until they could go to America in 1939.  They stayed in New York until 1942, when through fellow composer Hans Eisler’s intercession Zeisl obtained a Hollywood contract offer to work for MGM.  In Los Angeles he met many old friends, but the film studios were well staffed with European composers by that time.  He had a hard time getting work, and usually it was „drone assignments“  -  writing music for various scenes and not obtaining screen credit.  It was Stravinsky who recommended him for a position at L.A. City College, where Zeisl worked until his early, unexpected death.

In his early career Zeisl wrote a large number of songs, and he saw himself as a composer in the great Lied tradition of Schubert and Wolf.  His great love for his Austrian homeland may, as his daughter Barbara emphasizes in her memoirs, be one of the reasons why he never again composed a song after being forced to flee.

As a young composer in Austria he was prominent enough to be played on the radio, as in 1934 when his first string quartet was broadcast.  The publisher Universal Edition commissioned an instrumentation of several movements for string orchestra; Zeisl selected three, of which the first (Scherzo) and third (Fugue) were published by UE; but UE decided not to publish the middle movement, the Variations on a Slovak Folksong

Erich Zeisl died in California at the age of fifty-three.  We wish that the recent revival of interest in his works may also bring joy to audiences on this side of the Atlantic.

Erich Zeisl

wurde 1905 in Wien geboren. Gegen den Wunsch der Eltern begann er mit 14 Jahren, an der Musikakademie zu studieren; nach zwei Jahren erschienen bereits seine ersten Lieder. Ab den 20er Jahren produzierte er Kompositionen in den verschiedensten Genres; seine Oper „Leonce und Lena“ (nach Büchner) war bereits für Aufführungen in Prag und Wien vorgesehen, als ihn, wie viele seiner jüdischen Kollegen, das Schicksal des Anschlusses ereilte, der jegliche berufliche Tätigkeit beendete und sein Leben bedrohte. Im November 1938 floh er mit seiner Frau nach Paris, wo ihm Darius Milhaud ein Visum verschafft hatte, dass ihnen erlaubte dort zu bleiben bis sie 1939 nach Amerika reisen konnten. Bis 1942 blieben sie in New York, als durch die Vermittlung von Hans Eisler ein Vertragsangebot aus Hollywood eintraf, bei MGM zu arbeiten. In Los Angeles gab es viele alte Bekannte, aber die Filmstudios waren mit europäischen Komponisten gut besetzt; Zeisl hatte es schwer, und bekam meist nur „Dronenaufträge,“ also die Aufgabe einzelne Szenen zu vertonen, ohne dafür in den Credits aufzuscheinen. Es war Strawinski, der Zeisl für eine Professur am Los Angeles City College empfahl, wo Zeisl bis zu seinem überraschenden, frühen Tod arbeitete.

Zeisl schrieb in seiner frühen Schaffensperiode eine große Anzahl von Liedern, und sah sich selbst in der Tradition des deutschen Kunstlieds von Schubert und Wolf. Die besondere Verbundenheit mit seiner österreichischen Heimat, so betont seine Tochter Barbara in ihren Memoiren, ist möglicherweise ein Grund dafür, dass er nach der Flucht aus der Heimat nie mehr ein Lied verfasste.

Er war schon als junger Komponist in Österreich erfolgreich genug, um im Rundfunk gespielt zu werden, wo sein Streichquartett Nr. 1 im Jahre 1934 übertragen wurde. Der Verlag Universal Edition beauftragte ihn, einzelne Sätze daraus für Streichorchester zu bearbeiten; schließlich wählte Zeisl drei Sätze aus, von denen der erste, das Scherzo, und der dritte, die Fuge, von UE auch verlegt wurden; aber UE entschied sich gegen die Drucklegung des mittleren Satzes, Variationen über ein Slowakisches Volkslied.

Erich Zeisl starb 53-jährig in Kalifornien. Die vor wenigen Jahren einsetzende Wiederbelebung seiner Werke soll auch diesseits des Atlantiks das Publikum erfreuen.